Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

The first Israeli beer news portal in Israel. Founded in 2008. All about beer, accessible and professional.

Beer and Health
29/07/2023
328

Beer and Celiac

Gluten free

Health, one of the components of our life, which you begin to appreciate only after losing it, but even if we fall ill, we try not to part with our favorite habits and addictions. And who but beer lovers clearly understand this – after all, doctors are often so categorical and one of the first things on the list of prohibitions is Beer…

This list is usually standard: avoid fat, sweets, alcohol, but sometimes doctors categorically prohibit the use of beer! What is the reason for this selectivity? – Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease in which, due to certain disorders, the body cannot tolerate products made of cereals: bread, beer, whiskey, various types of baked goods and many others.

So, what is this ” anti-beer disease?” – Our body is made up of different systems that work together, such as the cardiovascular system, the nervous system, and the digestive system. The main purpose of the digestive system is to allow the body to absorb nutrients from the food we eat. To stay healthy, the digestive system needs to cooperate with the immune system, which is responsible for protecting the body from harmful microorganisms.

One of the ways the immune system protects us is by producing antibodies. Sometimes the immune system doesn’t work properly – it can overreact and produce too many antibodies. In these cases, the antibodies act like an angry army without a commander and attack everything around them – not only dangerous invaders, but also healthy tissue. This is exactly what happens in people with celiac disease – the body (immune system) reacts abnormally to eating gluten. The disease mainly affects tissues in the intestines – when these tissues are damaged, the body cannot properly absorb nutrients from food, especially gluten.

Gluten (Latin for glue), also called gluten, is a certain type of protein found in cereal plants, especially wheat, rye, oats and barley. Accordingly, it is also found in beer. It is widely used in the baking industry and in various artificial flavorings, it is also used in the meat processing industry.

According to recent data, about 1% of the U.S. population has celiac disease, but not all patients are aware of it and often write off their ailments to related diseases.

Celiac disease is an inherited condition, you must inherit certain genes to develop it. The most common of which is HLA-DQ2 (about 95% of people with celiac disease have it). Fortunately, having this gene is not a requirement for the disease – 30%-40% of the world’s population has this gene, but there are about 1% of people with celiac disease.

Beer lovers all over the world, no matter where they live, no matter what religion, and everything else that usually divides us, are all of them are connected. What connects them to each other – the Beer that stands above it all. Even as only a small group of people seem to love beer but are medically unable to drink it, brewers around the world brew special gluten-free beers for them.

Sometimes gluten-free beer doesn’t so tasty, but it’s Beer! There are many brands of gluten-free or reduced gluten beer available in various countries. And this list is constantly growing, there are even gluten-free beer festivals! There is this kind of beer in Israel as well, and believe me, it’s really tasty!

Your comments